At East Torrens Primary School curriculum planning is based on the online Reception (Foundation) to Year 10 Australian Curriculum (AC).

Until all areas are fully implemented the South Australian Curriculum, Standards and Accountability (SACSA) framework will also be utilised.


The curriculum forms the foundation of future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. It sets out essential knowledge, understanding, skills and capabilities and provides a national standard for student achievement in core learning areas. The Australian Curriculum describes what children and young people should learn as they progress through schooling. Twenty-first century learning does not fit neatly into a curriculum solely organised by learning areas or subjects. That is why the Australian Curriculum has identified a comprehensive set of knowledge, skills and dispositions or general capabilities that will assist students to live and work successfully in the twenty-first century.

The seven General Capabilities to be addressed within the Australian Curriculum are:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information and communication technology competence
  • Critical and creative thinking
  • Personal and social competence
  • Ethical behaviour